Skip to main content

Rivercrest Education Foundation


September 23, 2009

Rivercrest Education Foundation, Inc. was formed in 2000 by a group of interested individuals in the Bogata and Talco communities. Incorporated in early 2002, the Foundation today is a non-profit organization made up of 35 trustees and officers from the local area whose goal is to help provide scholarships to Rivercrest seniors seeking higher education through college or vocational school.

To date, over $250,000 in scholarships has been offered to graduating seniors at Rivercrest High School. In 2004-2005, the Foundation first made scholarship money available to seniors and juniors still in high school who took one of the following dual credit college classes offered through Paris Junior College: English, Biology, A&P, Algebra and Medical Terminology. Each semester, around $5,000 is set aside for qualified applicants.

This year is the12th spring benefit banquet, the premier fund-raising event each year. Additional scholarship money is obtained through ticket sales, raffles, and silent auction items. Donations are welcomed in memory or in honor of loved ones. Endowments in the amount of $5,000 are also accepted with the interest generated from that given as a scholarship in the loved one's name. There are endowed scholarships are given through the REF: the Cassie Kay McCuller Memorial Endowed Scholarship, the Robert and Susan Rhoads and Nancy Rhoads Ewald Endowed Scholarship and the Travis and Mable Hale Memorial Endowed Scholarship. This year, two new endowed Scholarships will be awarded from the Bogata Former Student's Association.

The REF is also host to an annual benefit golf tournament, held each October at the Clarksville Country Club to help raise funds for our organization.

In 2005, the Foundation began recognizing former Rivercrest teachers by inducting them into a Hall of Fame. Educators honored in the past include the following: Nadine Caldwell, Billie Garrison, Travis Hale, Jewell Haynes, Dianne Ross, Barbara Russell, Frank and Anita Stubblefield, Ann Roberts, Larry Tucker, Bonnie Ruth Huddleston, Billie Pirtle, Mable Hale, Bill Joe Vickers, Bonnye Gage, Kenneth Pirtle, Jane Holmes, Buford Hervey, Don Easterling and Don Stockton. This year's inductees are Claire Jessee and Katy VanDeaver.

Thank you for taking an interest in the Rivercrest Education Foundation. Because of help from individuals like you, the generosity of the area businesses, community support, and the hard work of the trustees, the young people of our school are receiving an incentive to succeed in today's world. We hope that you will be a part each year by donating to this worthwhile organization.


Mission statement:

"The mission of the Rivercrest Education Foundation, Inc., is to provide financial assistance in the form of scholarships and dual credit courses to graduating seniors and to be a link to our alumni, a bridge to our communities, and an advocate of the values, traditions, and heritage of Rivercrest Independent School District."