Please follow these steps before you turn in your iPad.
Restoring the iPad Mini to its default settings is also essential if you are thinking of selling or giving away your iPad to someone else as you can fully erase your personal info from the device before it leaves your hands.
Here are 2 simple ways to restore factory settings and erase all the content on your iPad Mini, with the help of iTunes, and without.
You’ll then be asked if you want to continue; after the confirmation, your iPad will reset and the Apple logo together with a loading bar will appear on screen.
Upon the start up, all content, apps, music, photos, and personal account information will be erased from the iPad. And you’ll have to go through the process of setting up the from scratch (choosing language, Apple ID, etc.).
Once your iPad starts up again, you’ll have a clean iPad with the latest firmware installed.